“Your heart must become a sea of love. Your mind must become a river of detachment”

rock in night sea

Happy Sunday all!!!

So we’re on to the 6th law of the Seven Spiritual Laws of Success…the Law of Detachment. This law holds special meaning for me, particularly today, primarily because I am well-aware of how attached I can be to things and circumstances (usually those of the negative variety). There have been various times throughout my life when I was 100% UNSURE of how bills were going to get paid, how I was going to get a particular job, how tuition was going to get covered (I definitely DO NOT miss that part of undergrad), and several other circumstances/situations that I don’t need to bore you with. The bottom line is that I was stressed, depressed, and all-around bummed the h*** out because i had no idea how things were going to fall into place and I was ATTACHED to the overall outcome…I wasn’t able to relinquish my attachment to money, the future, my career….ANYTHING. Needless to say, this did nothing but bring more stress and unhappiness to my life and it ultimately became a merry-go-round of self-pity, jealously, resentment, self-doubt, yada, yada, yada.

I did not realized the solution to this until recently (I’m talking within the last year) and it was not until then that I was able to acknowledge this weakness of mine and take the necessary steps to change it. This is where the Law of Detachment comes in:

“In detachment lies the wisdom of uncertainty…in the wisdom of uncertainty lies the freedom from our past, from the known, which is the prison of past conditioning. And in our willingness to step into the unknown, the field of all possibilities, we surrender ourselves to the creative mind that orchestrates the dance of the universe”.

2650335246_e3d15f33c5_o

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In lamest terms, the Law of Detachment says “in order to acquire anything in the physical universe, you have to relinquish your attachment to it”. Now, this DOES NOT mean that you give up your intention to have what you seek OR the desire to have it, you simply give up the attachment you have to the end result. This was my mistake….I was SO focused (a.k.a attached), on the end goal (getting that particular bill paid, finding that job) that I was devastated when things didn’t go my way. or when I was unsure of how things were going to get accomplished. You can call it Trust, Faith, whatever you want, but detachment is based on the UNQUESTIONING BELIEF that you have in your TRUE SELF, which was something I was lacking…a LOT.

In the previous post, I discussed the Law of Intention and Desire…one law does not interfere with the other in any way whatsoever. With the Law of Intention and Desire, you still have a desire and an end goal, a point A and B; the Law of Detachment just acknowledges the infinite possibilities that are between those two points and emphasizes not to become attached to one specific outcome. By incorporating the Law of Detachment into our lives, we will begin look at every problem and negative circumstance as an opportunity for a greater benefit. As this happens, we will be better prepared to take advantage of all the great experiences that life has to offer; “what is often called good luck will be nothing but opportunity and preparedness coming together”.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday everyone! Til’ next time…..

-Me

Leave a Reply

